to know where we are going we need to know where we come from…

IMG_3141I’ m Lis , currently 25 ;

Born to loving and hardworking Hispanic parents in California,

A Daughter of our Heavenly Father;

and Yes I’m a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints … also known as the Mormon Church.

But I wasn’t always a member… this is my story

I was born in California to a part member family; my mom pretty much grew up in the church back in Chiapas , Mexico but wasn’t always very active in it and my dad really wasn’t religious back in Honduras ,  when they had me shortly after coming to the states my dad wasn’t interested in learning about the church and my mom desired to become active again, so about a year after I was born my mom invited the missionaries over to talk to her and my “I don’t want to meet with them ” father ended up taking the lessons and being baptized. However they did both fall away from the church shortly after , but they still believed it was true. As I got older I don’t remember going to church and I don’t remember my parents asking me if I wanted to go; my dad however says that I was adamant about not wanting to go, and that in order to not have to deal with me throwing fits they gave up . I know I always stood out from my friends who would talk about all these prayers and traditions their families did, and they always would ask me ” How do you not know what that is ? Aren’t you catholic?Weren’t you baptized as a baby?” . To these questions I remember my response would be  “No I’m not catholic, my parents are Mormons and they don’t baptize until you are 8, but I didn’t get baptized because my mom got sick so I’m nothing “.

Looking back now I realize that I had faith that things were how they were supposed to be , I didn’t want to say I was Mormon because I didn’t know what that was since my  parents didn’t teach me and since I didn’t know anyone that was an active member of the church , but I also knew that being catholic because I was Hispanic wasn’t right , I knew that I would eventually figure it out . This feeling became even more strong  when I was getting ready for my Quinceanera. While all my friends were dreading their Catholic Mass ( because most of them only attended church for special occasions) I knew I wasn’t going to have one and that I didn’t want one. I remember my close friend K ( her parents were and still are inactive LDS members) saying that she was going to get baptized in the catholic church to have her mass and that didn’t sit right with me , because I wondered why only she was doing it but not her parents or her younger brothers, she asked me to go with her once and I did since we had gone to the movies and her class  was shortly after but I walked out saying ” Yeah , I’m just having the party “.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑